June 24, 2024

A’Ibom assembly extends LG Transition Committees for six months

A’Ibom assembly extends LG Transition Committees for six months

Dennis Udoma, Uyo

The Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly on Thursday approved the extension of the Transition Committee for six months.

This followed a report of the House of Assembly Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs presented by its Chairman, Hon. Mfon Idung during today’s Plenary saying that the extension is to allow the council polls slated for October 26, to be conducted.

According to him, “the current Transition Committee Chairmen and members in all the local government councils were enthusiastic to implement the ARISE Agenda of His Excellency, Pastor Umo Eno through the implementation of capital projects, personnel development and humanitarian services.

“The House Committee in carrying out its mandate, visited each local government council and upon arrival, was received by the Transition Committee Chairmen and their team, and subsequently taken round project sites such as the Arise Demonstration Farms and other projects of each Council.

“Full allocation accruable to each local government council has been released to the Councils by the Governor, since inception of the Interim Administration.

“Most of the Local Government Transition Committee made judicious use of the funds allocated to their councils.  There was no local government council without a signature project”.

Hon Idung said the House Committee was satisfied with the performance of the Local Government Interim Administration, except for a few Local Government Councils which are under the watch of the Committee.

The Deputy Leader of the House, Hon. Otobong Bob (Nsit Ubuim), also clarified that despite the resolution of the House, the State Governor however, reserves the right to re-appoint or drop any Transition Committee Chairmen.

Sequel to the committee’s report, the Speaker, Hon. Udeme Otong directed the Clerk of the Assembly to communicate the resolution of the House to the Executive Governor for assent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *