May 27, 2024

Tribunal sacks Kano State governor, declares APC’s Gawuna winner in Kano

Tribunal nullifies NNPP’s Abba Yusuf election, declares APC’s Gawuna winner in Kano

The Kano Governorship Election Petition Tribunal has sacked Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf and declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) Nasiru Gawuna winner of the March 18 election.

The judge passed his judgement virtually via Zoom, a teleconference service as the panel members were not physically in court.

The ruling came weeks after lawyers of both parties made their closing arguments on behalf of their clients on 21 August.

Recall the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had declared that the NNPP polled 1,019,602 votes to defeat the APC with its candidate, Nasir Gawuna, who scored 890,705 votes. The NNPP candidate thus won with a margin of 128,897 votes.

However, the APC filed a petition at the tribunal to challenge the results declared by the electoral body.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *